15 CHL Goaltenders Invited to Hockey Canada Camp 15 CHL Goaltenders Invited to Hockey Canada Camp

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Thursday the 16 goaltenders that will attend the seventh-annual Program of Excellence goaltending camp at the WinSport Canada Athletic & Ice Complex in Calgary from June 7-10.


Sixteen goaltenders – 11 in the under-20 age category (candidates for Canada’s National Junior Team) and five in the under-18 category (candidates for Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team) – will get the opportunity to work with a number of instructors during the four-day camp.


All 16 goaltenders were selected by Hockey Canada based on evaluations done by head scout Kevin Prendergast and goaltending consultant Ron Tugnutt during the 2011-12 season and in consultation with coaches, general managers and team officials throughout the CHL.


Jordan Binnington, Owen Sound (OHL)

Corbin Boes, Brandon (WHL)

Laurent Brossoit,  Edmonton (WHL)

Maxime Lagacé, P.E.I. (QMJHL)

Étienne Marcoux, Blainville-Boisbriand (QMJHL)

Matt Murray, Sault Ste. Marie (OHL)

Jake Paterson, Saginaw (OHL)

Mackenzie Skapski, Kootenay (WHL)           

Malcolm Subban, Belleville (OHL)

Brandon Whitney, Victoriaville (QMJHL)


Eric Comrie, Tri-City (WHL)

Zachary Fucale, Halifax (QMJHL)

Tristan Jarry, Edmonton (WHL)

Spencer Martin, Mississauga (OHL)

Storm Phaneuf, Blainville-Boisbriand (QMJHL)



“We have had terrific success with this camp in its first six years, and we are excited to have Canada’s best young goaltenders work with some of the top instructors in the game,” said Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations/national teams. “We want to give these young goaltenders every opportunity to develop and prepare for international competition, and we feel this camp is a step in the right direction.”

The camp will include both on-ice and off-ice sessions. Hockey Canada goaltender consultant Ron Tugnutt will lead a group of seven instructors: Sebastien Farrese (Belleville, OHL), Scott Gouthro (Cape Breton, QMJHL), Mike Lawrence (Oshawa, OHL), Marco Marciano (Blainville-Boisbriand, QMJHL), J.F. Martel (Medicine Hat), Stan Matwijiw (Plymouth, OHL) and Darcy Wakaluk (Calgary, WHL).


The camp will be open to the public, free of charge.


For more information on Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence, visit www.hockeycanada.ca

League Schedules
Saturday February 13
LET 0 0 EDM 1st - 14:17
CAP 0 1 DRU 2nd - 13:13 player.drummondville.radionrj.ca www.cjcbradio.comendirect.lhjmq.qc.calive.theqmjhl.ca
HAL 0 0 SHA 1st - 12:15 www.fm1069.caplayer.news957.comendirect.lhjmq.qc.calive.theqmjhl.ca
VDO 0 0 SHE 1st - 11:28 player.sherbrooke.radionrj.caendirect.lhjmq.qc.ca
MON at BAT 11:00 EST
CHI at CHA 11:00 EST
BAC at SNB 11:00 EST
KIT at ERIE 7:00 EST
PBO at HAM 7:00 EST
NB at KGN 7:00 EST
SSM at SBY 7:00 EST
VAN at KAM 10:00 EST
SAS at MJ 8:00 EST
KEL at PG 10:00 EST
TC at RD 9:00 EST
BDN at REG 8:00 EST
MH at SC 8:00 EST
LDN at SAR 7:05 EST
VIC at EVT 10:05 EST
POR at SEA 10:05 EST
KTN at SPO 10:05 EST
GUE at BAR 7:30 EST
OS at FLNT 7:30 EST

Get the CHL Insider

Be the first the know what’s going on in the CHL