WHL wins shootout thriller over Russia WHL wins shootout thriller over Russia

Vancouver, BC – Edmonton Oil Kings netminder Laurent Brossoit prevailed in a goaltenders’ duel, backstopping Team WHL to a 1-0 win in a shootout over Russia in Game 5 of the SUBWAY Super Series on Thursday night.

The 19-year-old product of Surrey, B.C., turned aside all 30 shots he faced through 60 minutes, then denied all three shooters he faced in the shootout to help Team WHL past Russia, who also got a terrific performance from Saskatoon Blades’ goaltender Andrey Makarov.

Sam Reinhart of the Kootenay Ice scored the decisive shootout goal on a nifty move as Team WHL converted three of their four shootout chances. Hunter Shinkaruk of the Medicine Hat Tigers and Mark McNeill of the Prince Albert Raiders also found the net in the shootout.

The win gives the CHL an 8-7 edge in points through five games of the six-game series.

Russia got themselves to the shootout on the back of Makarov’s 35-save performance through regulation play. The 19-year-old from Kazan was making his first appearance for Russia in the series, and was particularly strong in the third period as his side was outshot 12-7.

Both Brossoit and Makarov earned Player of the Game honours for their respective teams.

Team WHL finished 0-for-3 on the power play while Russia was blanked on two man advantage chances.

1972 Summit Series Canadian hero Phil Esposito along with Russian native and Hockey Hall of Fame member Igor Larionov participated in the ceremonial faceoff.

A SUBWAY Super Series record attendance of 11,124 fans attended the game at Pacific Coliseum in Vancouver, B.C.

The 2012 SUBWAY Super Series wraps up on Thursday night with Team WHL hosting Russia in Victoria, B.C.  The game can be seen live on Sportsnet One at 10PM Eastern.  A WHL win in regulation or a shootout will clinch the series.

Game Summary

League Schedules
Saturday February 28
BLB at SHE 4:00 EST
DRU at VDO 4:00 EST
CAP at CHI 4:00 EST
CHA at MON 6:00 EST
GAT at SNB 6:00 EST
SHA at ROU 7:00 EST
NB at NIA 7:00 EST
OSH at BELV 7:05 EST
KGN at PBO 7:05 EST
OTT at PLY 7:05 EST
LDN at SAG 7:11 EST
MISS at BAR 7:30 EST
ERIE at OS 7:30 EST
REG at MJ 8:00 EST
MH at SC 8:00 EST
KTN at BDN 8:30 EST
LET at RD 9:00 EST
VAN at KAM 10:00 EST
PG at EVT 10:05 EST
CAL at KEL 10:05 EST
POR at SEA 10:05 EST
TC at SPO 10:05 EST

Get the CHL Insider

Be the first the know what’s going on in the CHL